2019-2020 Main Stage Series

Musical Storytelling from the Old and New Worlds

The last Mainstage concert of the season begins with the Tobias Picker’s pastoral Old and Lost Rivers. Tchaikovsky’s symphonic poem inspired by the Shakespearean tragedy Romeo and Juliet, and the PSO Concerto Competition winner fill out the first half. Our season concludes with Dvorak’s New World Symphony, a piece inspired by the wide open spaces in America the composer encountered during his time here, ending the season in awe and wonder!


  1. Picker Old and Lost Rivers
  2. Tchaikovsky Romeo and Juliet Overture-Fantasy
  3. Concerto Competition Winner
  4. Dvorak Symphony No. 9 (New World Symphony)

All concerts begin at 3:00 pm and are preceded at 1:45 pm by Inside the Music, a free pre-concert discussion that provides an entertaining insight into the afternoon’s program.

More Events in This Series