About the PSO

Board of Directors

Board of Directors

The Portsmouth Symphony Orchestra is managed by a volunteer Board of Directors comprised of orchestra musicians and community members.

Michael Schwartz, PhD, MPA
resident, Demonstrated Success, LLC

Vice President
Sarah Krebs
Director of Exceptional Services, Pembroke Academy

David Young
Product Architect, Honeywell

Janet Polasky
Presidential Professor of History, University of New Hampshire

Directors at Large

John Ahlgren
Attorney, Hoefle Phoenix Gormley & Roberts, P.A.

Melissa Grady
Marketing and Digital Analytics Leader

Josephine Lamprey
Medical Professional and CEO Lamprey Energy (retired)

Fay Rubin
Project Director, University of New Hampshire

Rachel Swanson
Designer & Founder, Kindertype

Craig Peverly
Engineer, Portsmouth Naval Shipyard (retired)

Donna Saunders

Clinton F. Miller, MD
President Emeritus, PSO
Neurosurgeon/Founding Partner, Coastal New Hampshire Neurosurgeons (Retired)

Edward Tate
Real Estate, Tate & Foss
Advisory Committee Members

Advisory Committee

Anne Richter Arnold
Arts Journalist

Mike Chubrich
Attorney, Chubrich & Harrigan, P.A.

Joyce Ciancarelli
Event Coordinator

Christine Dwyer
Senior Vice President, RMC Research

Bob Lord
CEO, Parma Recordings

Peggy Misdom
Corporate Relations, New Hampshire Public Radio

Jeanie Eastman Ryan
CEO, Learniverse Media

Katie Wheeler
State Senator (retired)

Doug Wheeler
Professor Emeritus, UNH


Charles Schwab

Piscataqua Savings Bank

Meredith Village Savings Bank

Bangor Savings Bank

Cornerstone VNA

It is with the greatest sadness that we announce the decision to suspend any concert activity for September, October, and November 2020.

We waited as long as we could, and had a number of scenarios in mind. It became clear, however, that the future, given the directives from the state of New Hampshire, was too much of an unknown, and we wouldn’t be able to plan compassionately, intelligently, and in a timely manner, for the safety and well-being of our musicians and audience members.

We know that all our lives have been turned upside down by this pandemic. This is the only time in 23 years that the Portsmouth Symphony has had to cancel concerts, which is illustrative of the gravity of the current global situation.

Please stay safe, stay in touch, and we hope for a quick and happy return to exciting concerts and to the exceptional joys of music-making that our community has come to expect and love.

We miss seeing you, our audience, and will keep you posted about when it is safe to return to glorious symphonic gatherings!

Stay tuned for updates by signing up to our mailing list.