Family Holiday Pops!

Holidays at the Movies

Scroll down for contents including program listing, notes and musicians.


Message from the President

As the Portsmouth Symphony Orchestra embarks on this, it’s 25th season, our mission to entertain, educate and encourage the audiences of today and tomorrow has never felt more relevant. Making and experiencing music, in all forms, is a basic human instinct. Music is what connects us across geography, cultures and time. Music consoles us and inspires us. And music is for everyone.

Here on the Seacoast, the PSO takes its responsibility to keep the tradition of high-quality classical music alive and is committed, as part of this endeavor, to giving voice to talented composers and works from the genre that are perhaps less well known to audiences. We hope you’ll find this year’s programs reflect this ongoing commitment.

Just as a symphony is only made possible by the coming together of individual musicians to create something more than the sum of its parts, so too does the PSO as an organization rely on the contributions and investment of so many. This year we are grateful to our generous corporate sponsors, our committed individual donors, our community partners, my fellow board members, our talented Music Director John Page, the musicians, and of course YOU—our dedicated and enthusiastic audience.

Whether this is your first concert, or you are an annual subscriber, we are thrilled to have you as part of the PSO family. Welcome and thank you for your continued support.

Now, on with the season.

David Young
President of the Board of Directors

Message from the Music Director

There’s a lot to be excited about during the PSO’s 25th season. This year, the orchestra will be performing a collection of deeply evocative pieces that will challenge both the musicians and the audience to explore the full range of human emotions.

As we all know, landscapes have the power to inspire us and stir different emotions and many of this year’s composers were powerfully influenced by landscapes—Mahler by the Austrian lakes and mountains, Sibelius by the dramatic landscape of Finland, and Elgar by the bucolic rolling hill of England’s Malverns. Audiences can look forward to works by these composers as well as those by Walker, Still, Beethoven, and Fung.

We’ll also welcome talented guest performers Ben DiScipio (tenor) in December and Ko-Eun Yi (pianist) in March; and, for the New Year’s Eve concert, we welcome back guest conductor Dirk Hillyer. In June, audiences will be treated to a performance by the winner of the 2023 Young Artist Competition.

We’re looking forward to making music together and are so happy you are here to share it with us.

John Page Signature

John Page
Music Director

Program Listing

Holidays at the Movies

John Page
Christmas Festival Overture Leroy Anderson
Hanukkah Festival Overture arr. Lucas Richman
Christmas at the Movies arr. Bob Krogstad
Bugler’s Holiday Leroy Anderson
Champagne Galop Hans Christian Lumbye
Rocket Sleigh Delvyn Chase


Sleigh Ride Leroy Anderson
Portsmouth High School Choir, Nathan Wotton, Director
Stomp on the Fire Andrea Ramsey
Vuelie Christophe Beck & Frode Fjellheim
Jingle Bells James Pierpont, arr. Audrey Sneider
Somewhere In My Memory from Home Alone John Williams
Winter Wonderland of Snow arr. Mark Hayes
A Holly and A Jolly Sing-Along! James M. Stephenson


  • Violin I

  • Nicole Wendl* 
  • Anna Pearlman** 
    Asst. Concertmaster
  • Lorna Ellis
  • Rachel Swanson
  • Sargis Karapetyan
  • Susan Holcomb
  • Susie Stevens
  • Diana Bourns
  • Evelyn Laux
  • Violin II

  • Ashley Offret*
    Principal 2nd
  • Susan Streiff**
    Asst. Principal 2nd
  • Jeffrey Sullivan
  • Kristin Sullivan
  • Megan Fedor
  • Grace Ducharme
  • May-Win Thein
  • Jim Bullock
  • Viola

  • Nickolas Kaynor*
  • Wendy Keyes
  • Jan Heirtzler
  • Eric Salas
  • Maggie Chutter
  • Thalia Dain
  • Craig Peverly
  • Michele Boulanger
  • Cello
  • Gary Hodges*
  • Larry Veal**
  • Melissa Ambrose 
  • Fay Rubin
  • Lauren Wool
  • Chloe Jaarsma
  • Jacob Copp
  • Double Bass

  • Nathan Therrien*
  • David Hirsch
  • Jason Summerfield
  • Robert Hoffman
  • Joseph Annicchiarico
  • Flute and Piccolo

  • Aubrie Dionne*
  • Laurel Crawford
  • Erin Dubois
  • Oboe

  • Sarah Krebs*
  • Amanda Doiron
  • Clarinet and Bass Clarinet

  • John Ferraro*
  • David Young
  • Bassoon

  • Melissa Grady*
  • Maria Isaak
  • Horn

  • Orlando Pandolfi**
  • Susan Williams**
  • Dirk Hillyer
  • Kathleen Keen
  • Trumpet

  • Adam Gallant*
  • David Shepherd
  • Mark Zielinski
  • Trombone and Bass Trombone

  • Brandon Newbould*
  • Ben Sink
  • Jim Griswold
  • Tuba

  • Crystal Metric*
  • Timpani 

  • Steve Cirillo*
  • Percussion

  • Timur Rubinshteyn*
  • Alyssa Ostrowski
  • Jeff Sagurton
  • Piano

  • Michael Wernig
  • Blake Leister
* Principal
** Assistant Principal

Portsmouth High School Choir Roster

Nathan Wotton, Director


  • Kara Carlson
  • Isabela Fothergill-Price
  • Hugh Gatchell
  • Nina Little
  • Hannah Nahas
  • Shea O’Keefe
  • Margo Panek
  • Lauren Ramirez
  • Marielle Soriano
  • Julia Syphers
  • Sophie Tombarelli
  • Ginger Vinciguerra


  • Josie Almeida
  • Molly Berling
  • Sabina Bower
  • Rae Buchanan
  • Emily Carlson
  • Maia Collins
  • Brae Davis
  • Noelle Gagnon
  • Lydia Gawron
  • Sophie Grandmaison
  • Pearl Hoekstra-Toste
  • Bella Michaud
  • Kay Rapaport
  • Alex Zapata


  • James Archambault
  • Charlie Honeyman
  • Ollie Olsen
  • Charlie Thomas
  • Skye Turrietta
  • Geno Vinciguerro


  • Jabari Davis
  • Seth Kozak
  • Max Mueller
  • Jacob Ringuette
  • Nick Tavares
  • Caleb Van Epps
  • Soren Westerberg

Perform with the PSO

The Portsmouth Symphony Orchestra seeks classical musicians in the community to audition for a place in the orchestra.

We invite all musicians, from professionals and educators to devoted amateurs and highly
accomplished students to audition for a place in the orchestra.

Board of Directors

  • David Young, President
  • Kate Murray, Vice President
  • Jeffrey Gilbert, Treasurer
  • Fay Rubin, Secretary
  • Lawrence Connell
  • Beverly Giblin
  • Melissa Grady
  • Jan Heirtzler
  • Josephine Lamprey
  • Craig Peverly
  • Eric Salas
  • Donna Saunders
  • Michael Schwartz
  • Rachel Swanson

Staff & Volunteers

  • Caroline Amport Piper, Director of Communications
  • Aubrie Dionne, Director of Outreach
  • Erin Dubois, Administrative Assistant
  • Jan Heirtzler, Librarian
  • Craig Peverly, Equipment Manager
  • Rick Shepard, Personnel Manager
  • Rachel Swanson, Graphic Design