2022-2023 Mainstage Series

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73

Jean Sibelius'

Symphony No. 2

William Grant Still's
Poem for Orchestra

The PSO’s Winter Concert features Beethoven’s beautiful and masterful Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73, “Emperor Concerto,” Jean Sibelius’ powerful Symphony No. 2 and William Grant Still’s emergent Poem for Orchestra. Still’s work was inspired by a world being spiritually reborn after a period of darkness and isolation. This theme is echoed in Sibelius’ work, which was written as Finland was struggling against Russian oppression of its language and culture. Similarly triumphant is the spirit of the Emperor Concerto,” which will be performed by guest pianist Ko-Eun Yi. Perhaps the best known of Beethoven’s five piano concertos, the “Emperor Concerto” is notable for its grandeur, bold melodies, and heroic spirit. 

View the full concert program here.