2021-22 Subscription Concert Series

Please read our COVID-19 audience attendance protocol HERE

Kareem Roustom
Richard Strauss
Tod und Verklärung
Sergei Rachmaninov
Piano Concerto No 2
Ya-Fei Chuang, piano

The Portsmouth Symphony Orchestra Winter  Concert program features a sublime trio of works that highlight the full symphony’s capacity for melodic richness. Opening the program is Kareem Roustom’s Ramal, a rich and optimistic work, deeply imbued with elements from the composer’s Syrian heritage.

Strauss’s Death and Transfiguration is a tour-the-force tone poem, offering Strauss’ legendary symphonic richness while thematically dealing with the passage from darkness to light.

The concert concludes with Rachmaninov’s 2nd piano concerto—one of the crown jewels of the piano concerto repertoire—performed by internationally renowned pianist Ya-Fei Chuang.