2018-2019 Get Cozy Chamber Series

The Lakeside quartet brings the light of day to seldom performed masterworks for string quartet.

  1. Song of the Birds (Catalan Folk Song) Pau Casals
    MyPSO Cello Choir: Griffin Seuter, Jake Copp, Ian Machemer, Alex Norberg
  2. String Quartet No.1 “Bologna” (1906) Frank Bridge
    1. Adagio — Allegro Appasionato
    2. Adagio molto
    3. Allegretto grazioso — Animato
    4. Allegro agitato — Allegretto moderato — Adagio molto
  3. Quartet 14 in A flat major, Opus 105 Antonin Dvořák
    1. Adagio ma non troppo
    2. Molto vivace
    3. Lento e molto
    4. Finale. Allegro non tanto

Zoia Bologovsky, violin
Zoia is an active musician in the New England area. A graduate of the Juilliard School, Zoia has had many adventures touring as first violinist with the Arden String Quartet around America and Europe. She has held positions with the Portland and Springfield Symphonies and Rhode Island Philharmonic as well as Symphony New Hampshire. Currently, Zoia is Concertmaster of North Shore Philharmonic and the Portsmouth Symphony. She is also Principal 2nd violin of PORTopera, and can be found teaching at St Paul’s School in Concord, NH, and her studio in Stoneham, MA. Some of her favorite work involves Musical Theater. Zoia is a frequent performer at Providence Performing Arts Center, North Shore Music Theater, Hanover Theater in Worcester and the Boston Opera House playing touring and local Broadway shows.

Oliver Chang, viola
A native of Concord, Massachusetts, violist Oliver Chang performs with the Fenway String Quartet, East Coast Scoring, Orchestra on the Hill, and the Boston String Ensemble. He teaches violin and viola at the Wayland School Community Program, introductory strings at the Sudbury Valley New Horizons Music program, and maintains a private teaching studio in Framingham. Oliver completed his Bachelor’s Degree in Viola Performance at the Eastman School of Music in Rochester, New York, and his Master’s Degree and Performance Diploma at the Boston University School of Music. Previous teachers include Michelle LaCourse, George Taylor, Carol Rodland, and Lisa Suslowicz.

Oksana Gorokhovskiy, violin
Bulgarian born violinist Oksana Gorokhovskiy started her journey in the field of music at the age of six. She received a Bachelor Degree in Violin Performance at the State Academy of Music in Sofia, Bulgaria, and a Master Degree from Boston University, USA. Her private teachers and coaches were Professor Yuri Mazurkevich, members of the Shanghai String Quartet, Kronos String Quartet, and Muir String Quartet.While living in Europe, she was a soloist of the State Academy Orchestra, and second violin in String Quartet “Slavyani”, with which she performed actively and won the First Prize at the International Competition “Music and the Earth”. Mrs. Gorokhovskiy has toured with several orchestras throughout Europe. Currently she lives in United States and actively performs as a chamber musician and orchestra player. She is co-principal second violinist at Portsmouth Symphony Orchestra, and performs with Symphony by the Sea, Cape Ann Symphony, and Plymouth Philharmonic Orchestra.

Ivy A. Turner cello
Ivy A. Turner, cellist, is a chamber music fanatic. She runs chamber music workshops and play-ins, and brings chamber music to diverse new audiences. She started her musical training at age 3 and learned to read music before learning the alphabet. She was fortunate to study with highly-regarded cellists and is grateful for the superb coaching she has received. She has served on the board of Associated Chamber Music Players (ACMP), an international organization. When not playing the cello, Ivy works as a top-ranked Realtor in the Boston area. In her spare time she creates and organizes community events.

MyPSO (Musical Youth of the Portsmouth Symphony Orchestra) is the branch of the Portsmouth Symphony Orchestra devoted to mentoring the talented youth in our community, reaching out, training and educating them to prepare them to participate in the rich musical culture of our community and our world. Jake Copp is a sophomore at Exeter high school and in training to be the conductor of the MyPSO program. Ian Machemer is a sophomore at Timberlane high school and a part of the PSO orchestra cello section. Alex Norberg is a sophomore at UNH as a cello performance major, studying with Jacques Lee Wood. Griffin Seuter is a senior in high school, planning on attending college as a music performance major in the fall, performs as part of the PSO cello section and is currently serving as intern for the MyPSO program.

Pablo (Pau) Casals (1876-1973)
Pablo Casals was, of course, one of the greatest musical figures of the 20th century and also a man widely admired for his passionate stand on world affairs. When Francisco Franco assumed authoritarian rule of Casals’ native Spain in 1939, the cellist not only moved to France but also refused to play in his homeland or in any country that supported its fascist regime. As what he called a “song of the exile” he made an arrangement of the old Catalan Christmas song El Cant des Ocells — “The Song of the Birds” — which tells of how the eagle and the sparrow, the finch and the lark, come to serenade the Christ Child in the Manger, and used it frequently as a heart-felt encore at his recitals. 
Program Notes

Frank Bridge (1879-1941)
Composer, courageous revolutionary and pacifist. These words discovered in a biography of Frank Bridge, describe him in one terse statement. Bridge’s First String Quartet was composed in 1906 for a competition held by the Accademia Filarmonica di Bologna. The freshness of his style was by this time being added to by his own performances as a violist in prominent string quartets.Born in Sussex, Frank Bridge learned to play violin from his father, and had much early exposure to practical musicianship, playing in theatre orchestras his father conducted. He studied violin and composition, the latter from Charles Stanford, at the Royal College of Music. He later played viola in prominent quartets and was a respected conductor. When Frank Bridge’s chamber music first appeared, it was a revelation to amateurs as well as professional players. The first movement begins with a brief Adagio introduction before the main part, a passionate Allegro, based on a chromatic scale which helped to produce what were for the time unusual harmonies. The second movement is a heart-felt Adagio molto with great depth of expression. This followed by an affable, winsome scherzo, marked Allegretto grazioso. The main theme from the first movement makes an appearance here and also in the wide-ranging and dramatic finale, Allegro agitato.
Program Notes

Antonin Dvořák (1841-1904)
Antonin Dvořák’s String Quartet No. 14, although begun before he left the United States after his short stay in this country, was the last piece of chamber music he ever completed. Beginning and ending with the voice of the cello, this quartet clearly demonstrates the composer’s mastery of polyphonic complexity and thematic nuance. A Czech composer, one of the first to achieve worldwide recognition, Dvořák spent years creating what he considered to be the voice of his country, using rhythms and folk music themes to invoke Moravia and his native Bohemia. Dvořák’s own style has been described as “the fullest recreation of a national idiom with that of the symphonic tradition, absorbing folk influences and finding effective ways of using them”.
Program Notes